We’ll be throwing our traditional orchestra party again in January 2018, and we would love to welcome everyone to join us for music, dancing and feasting to celebrate the New Year. It’ll be held in the Victory Hall, Aboyne, starting at 7.30pm on Saturday 13th January 2018. Tickets, priced £20 per person, can be booked by phoning 013398 86424. Admission includes a hot buffet provided by Sheridan’s of Ballater and you’re invited to bring a bottle (or two) to the feast. Booking early is advised – it’s usually very popular!

For further details, please see our poster by clicking here.


Deeside Orchestra warmly invites you to this year’s Autumn Concert, entitled ‘A Musical Menagerie‘.

It’s to be held on Sunday 12th November at Birse and Feughside Church, starting at 3:00pm.

The programme will include the following items – and more!

  • The ‘Du und Du’ Waltzes from Die Fledermaus by Strauss
  • A Scene from Swan Lake by Tchaikovsky
  • ‘Sheep may safely graze’ by Bach
  • The Organ concerto ‘The Cuckoo and the Nightingale’ by Handel
  • ‘Turkey in the Straw’ a traditional tune
  • Grasshoppers’ Dance by Bucalossi
  • The Overture to ‘The Thieving Magpie’ by Rossini

You can also look forward to our traditional feast of tea and home bakes after the concert!

Tickets cost £7 for adults, children under 12yrs are free. You can buy them directly from members of the orchestra or you can reserve them by email; just click on the ‘Contact’ tab on the main menu above.


Deeside Orchestra will perform their Summer Romance concert at 7.30pm on Saturday 10th June 2017 in Deeside Community Theatre, Aboyne in association with the Aboyne and Deeside Festival. The programme will feature some of the world’s favourite classical pieces, spanning the Romantic Era. Click here to see our latest poster.

The orchestra is delighted to be joined by Jessica Coleman, performing Max Bruch’s much-loved Violin Concerto No 1 in G minor. Jessica is a young, upcoming violinist, born in Aberdeen and a recent graduate of the Royal College of Music, London. A previous winner of the Edinburgh Festival Concerto competition, Jessica is now in demand as a soloist, as well as performing with her string quartet, Vasara Quartet and the Southbank Sinfonia in London. This is a perfect opportunity for local audiences to hear her playing one of the most popular violin concertos in the repertoire, known for showcasing the soloist’s virtuosity and featuring lush romantic melodies. Click here for more details.

Opening the concert is the Overture from the mid-19th Century opera Hans Heiling by Heinrich Marschner. Based on Bohemian legends, the work provides a lively romp through underworld and supernatural themes.

The programme also features Schubert’s well loved Symphony no 8 in B minor, sometimes thought of as the first Romantic symphony. It is better known as his Unfinished Symphony, but is it? Come along to find out if The Deeside Orchestra has other ideas……..

Tickets for the concert – costing £12 for adults and £6 for under 16’s – are available via Ticketsource, from the Aboyne Festival,  or by calling 03336 663366. (Please click on either of these links)